Taction Software — FHIR Integration with Mirth Connect
Cost & Commercial

Mirth Connect License Cost Explained: What You Actually Pay For

Mirth Connect license cost changed fundamentally in 2026, when NextGen Healthcare moved the product from an open-source release to a commercial-only licensing model starting with version 4.6, while versions up to 4.5.2 remain usable under their original Mozilla Public License. What you pay now depends on which version you're running and which of NextGen's three tiers you need.

Below is what's documented about each tier, what stayed the same, and where published numbers stop and a vendor quote begins. Our free Mirth Health Check can review your current version and usage against what NextGen actually charges — part of the Mirth Connect support work we do for US healthcare teams.

What Changed in Mirth Connect's Licensing Model?

For most of its history, Mirth Connect was free to download, deploy, and modify under the Mozilla Public License, which is why it became the default choice for cost-conscious healthcare integration teams for well over a decade. That changed with NextGen's 2026 announcement moving future versions to a commercial-only model, ending new open-source releases and reshaping what every existing deployment actually pays.

Versions Through 4.5.2 Remain Free and Open Source

The last open-source release, version 4.5.2, remains available under its original license and continues to function for existing deployments. It simply won't receive further security patches, bug fixes, or feature updates from NextGen going forward.

Version 4.6 and Later Require a Commercial License

Starting with 4.6, new releases are commercial-only, and the underlying source code is no longer publicly published on GitHub the way earlier versions were. Upgrading past 4.5.2 now means entering NextGen's licensing structure directly.

No Per-Interface or Per-Data-Source Charge

NextGen states directly that Mirth Connect licensing is not charged per interface or data source. Pricing is structured as a flat annual fee per server, which matches the flat-cost model the open-source version was known for.

Three Tiers: Enterprise, Gold, and Platinum

NextGen's current commercial structure offers three named tiers — Enterprise, Gold, and Platinum — each bundling a different set of extensions and support case allowances. Enterprise is positioned as the lower-cost entry point introduced alongside the 2026 change.

What Does Each License Tier Actually Cost?

NextGen doesn't publish a public price list for any of the three tiers, so the numbers below come from what third-party Mirth partners and support vendors have reported rather than an official rate card from NextGen itself. Treat anything not explicitly sourced as a starting point for your own quote, not a guarantee of what you'll actually be charged.

TierWhat's IncludedReported Cost
EnterpriseLatest version access, SSL Manager, Channel History, Message Generator pluginsNot publicly disclosed
GoldEnterprise features plus additional extensions and support casesNot publicly disclosed
PlatinumFull extension set and highest support case allowanceHistorically reported around $30,000/year by a NextGen integration partner
ResearchComplimentary license for active non-profit research studiesFree, per NextGen's own published terms

Enterprise and Gold Pricing Is Not Publicly Disclosed

Neither tier has a published rate on NextGen's own site, and third-party sources we reviewed didn't report a specific figure for either one. Any number you're quoted should be confirmed directly with NextGen or an authorized reseller.

Platinum Has Been Reported Around $30,000 Annually

One NextGen integration partner has publicly cited a historical Platinum price point near $30,000 per year, though this figure isn't from NextGen's own materials and may not reflect current pricing exactly.

The Research Tier Is Genuinely Free for Eligible Studies

NextGen offers a complimentary license specifically for active studies linked to non-profit research institutions, which is one of the few tier costs actually confirmed directly from NextGen's own published information.

Multi-Server and OEM Licensing Cost More Than a Single Tier Price Suggests

Running multiple production servers, or embedding Mirth Connect inside your own product under an OEM arrangement, adds cost beyond a single tier's base price, and neither is covered by the publicly reported figures above.

How to Actually Figure Out Your Real Cost

Since NextGen doesn't publish a rate card, getting an accurate number means combining what's publicly confirmed with a direct conversation with the vendor, rather than assuming any single reported figure applies to your specific deployment as-is.

Confirm Which Version You're Currently Running

Your actual cost path depends entirely on whether you're already on 4.5.2 or earlier, versus needing to move to 4.6 or later, since only the latter requires entering the new commercial licensing structure at all.

Request a Quote Specific to Your Server Count

Because pricing is per server rather than per interface, your real cost scales with how many production servers you run, not how many channels or message types are deployed on each one.

Ask Directly About OEM or Multi-Instance Terms

If you're embedding Mirth Connect in your own product or running several environments, ask specifically about OEM and multi-instance pricing, since the standard tier figures don't reflect either scenario accurately.

Compare the Total Against Third-Party Support Alternatives

Before committing to a commercial tier, compare the total annual cost against staying on the legacy open-source version with third-party support, which several vendors offer as a lower-total-cost alternative for existing deployments.

Not sure which path fits your deployment?

Start with a free Mirth Health Check to review your version and usage, send us the exact error if you're troubleshooting something specific, or check pricing for our own support plans.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Mirth Connect still free to use?
Versions up to 4.5.2 remain usable under their original open-source license, so existing deployments on that version or earlier continue working at no license cost at all. Anything on version 4.6 or later requires NextGen's commercial licensing going forward from that point on.
Does Mirth Connect charge per interface?
No. NextGen has stated directly that Mirth Connect licensing isn't charged per interface or data source, structuring it instead as a flat annual fee per server, regardless of how many channels or message types happen to run on that specific server.
What's included in the Platinum tier?
Platinum includes the full extension set and the highest support case allowance among NextGen's three tiers, positioned as the top commercial option available today. Exact plugin lists can change between releases, so confirm current inclusions directly with NextGen before budgeting.
Why doesn't NextGen publish official pricing?
Many enterprise software vendors, including several healthcare integration engine providers, use quote-based pricing tied to deployment size and support needs rather than a fixed public rate card, which makes direct comparison across vendors genuinely harder without requesting quotes from each one.
Can I stay on the free version indefinitely?
Technically yes, since 4.5.2 continues to function normally, but it will no longer receive security patches or bug fixes from NextGen going forward. Every month on an unpatched version adds growing security and compliance exposure that a commercial or supported path avoids entirely.
Is third-party support cheaper than NextGen's commercial license?
For many existing deployments, yes — running the legacy open-source version with third-party support avoids the new license fee entirely while still getting genuine production support, though you lose access to NextGen's own newest features and official patches released going forward.

Need expert Mirth Connect support?

Whether you have a one-time integration project or need ongoing managed support, every engagement is named, scoped, and priced upfront — productized packages, no hourly billing.

Talk to a Mirth Solutions Architect

60-second form. Senior engineer responds within one business day.

What is 5 + 4 ?